‘iBoy’ Author Becomes Two Time Winner of Angus Book Award

YA author Kevin Brooks has been named as the winner of this year’s Angus Book Award for his novel iBoy. This is the second time that Brooks has taken away the Angus Book Award, the first was Candy which won the 2007 competition.

Mr Brooks received his £500 prize and the Angus Book Award trophy last Tuesday evening at an award ceremony in Carnoustie High School. His novel was chosen after a ballot of third year pupils across Angus, from a shortlist which also included Pastworld by Ian Beck (Bloomsbury), Flip by Martyn Bedford (Walker Books) and Being Billy by Phil Earle (Penguin Books).iBoy, published by Penguin Books has a 3.8 rating on Goodreads with over 557 reviews.

Accepting the award, Brooks said: “This is the best day of my life. More sunshine, wonderful people, inspiration and energy.” (Montrose Review)

Established by Angus Council in 1996, the award aims to encourage youngsters to read and enjoy a wide range of books.

About Josephine Hardy

A 26-year-old writer from Melbourne, Australia currently living with her husband in Fayetteville, Arkansas (USA). Content Marketing Producer at Simply Measured, hobby genealogist, cat lover, and world traveler.

Posted on May 23, 2012, in Book News and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Really good for him… I hope one day I get to experience the feeling…. It does sound like a good read, I’ll give it a go once I can.
    Thanks for sharing 🙂

    • It does look really good. YA is smothered with typically ‘female orientated fiction’ but this one could cater for both boys and girls. I hope I can review it sometime soon.

      • Well… I hope you do. 🙂
        By the way, I’m an author, I released my new born book in London, Kuwait and Egypt only (since I’m too busy with my senior year), I have copies to spare on the side. If you like, I would be glad to mail you one… I would love to know what would Australia say about it.
        If you want, I’ll send a link for a sample chapters 🙂

      • That’s awesome, congratulations on publishing your book! At the moment I’m only reviewing Young Adult fiction. Is your book YA? I’d be happy to review it if it is. If not there are SO many blogs out there and I’m sure you can find several that will review it. 🙂

      • Well… most modern fictional novels are for all ages, I have received mails from 13 years old to 39 🙂
        And yes, it has the elements of a YA novel, its a story of wit, survival, of friendships, of first love and of fate’s path.
        http://ahamin.wordpress.com/2012/04/14/38/
        You can download the sample here, first 16 pages of my new novel. Have a good read 🙂

Leave a Reply

