J.K. Rowling Responds to ‘Casual Vacancy’ Criticism and Talks Future Projects at Cheltenham Literature Festival

J.K. Rowling’s The Casual Vacancy has been received with mixed reviews over the past week due to its controversial sexual, political and social aspects. While promoting the book at the Cheltenham Literature Festival yesterday, Rowling responded and disagreed with the dissenting opinions.

The Telegraph who attended the event says that Rowling claimed critics “misrepresented” her social views after being “accused of hypocrisy in ridiculing the middle-class.”

“I am not a particularly thick-skinned person,” she said. “It is true that a lot of what I am looking at in the book are certainly middle-class issues, but then I think that’s fair and I am well-qualified as I am from the middle class, which I can empathise with. But I think some critics have misrepresented my views as more extreme or black and white than they really are. I don’t think I am evangelical in my work.”

Later in the event, Rowling said that her next book will most likely be for children slightly younger than the Harry Potter audience: “I have a lot of things on my laptop currently, including a couple of things for children – for a slightly younger age group than Harry Potter was aimed at – which are nearly done and will, I think, be the next thing I publish. I have run them by my children and they seem to like them which is always a good sign.”

“I also have some ideas for another book for adults but it isn’t too far on [in development].”

You can also read YABR’s review of The Casual Vacancy here.

 

 

 

 

 

About Josephine Hardy

A 26-year-old writer from Melbourne, Australia currently living with her husband in Fayetteville, Arkansas (USA). Content Marketing Producer at Simply Measured, hobby genealogist, cat lover, and world traveler.

Posted on October 7, 2012, in Book News and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’m hesitating to pick that book. I’m not sure if she wrote her recent novel because its a good idea or that she is trying to prove something to herself, that she can also write adult books.
    I’ll just have to wait and see.

    • The book itself is very well written but part of me wants to say that it wasnt the most brilliant idea for a book ever. It certainly has its moral points of value but lacks the imagination that Potter has. If you like Adult fiction you should try it out.

Leave a Reply

