Jo Rowling loves Jo March in NY Times Interview

One of the wonderful aspects of a new book being published by an author is the fascinating facts we can learn about them through their promotional tour. Today another great interview with Rowling has surfaced from the New York Times. When the New York Times asked J.K. Rowling, “Did you have a favorite character or hero as a child? Do you have a literary hero as an adult?” she admitted that her “favorite literary heroine is Jo March. It is hard to overstate what she meant to a small, plain girl called Jo, who had a hot temper and a burning ambition to be a writer.” I’m sure many readers, concur with Rowling’s favourite character, especially me since I’m also a Jo!

The interview is filled with interesting tidbits but one other piece of information I found intriguing was Rowling admitting to not reading, ““chick lit,” fantasy or science fiction”. While I’m not surprised about the chick lit, I am surprised that she doesn’t read fantasy, given that she is the author of one of the most incredible fantasy series ever written.

Visit the New York Times to read the full interview.

About Josephine Hardy

A 26-year-old writer from Melbourne, Australia currently living with her husband in Fayetteville, Arkansas (USA). Content Marketing Producer at Simply Measured, hobby genealogist, cat lover, and world traveler.

Posted on October 11, 2012, in Book News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.


  1. I have absolutely no idea how I hadn't seen that interview seeing as
    1)I love J.K Rowling.
    2) I love Jo March.
    3) I am a Jo too!

    Thank you so much for sharing.

    Also, I just discovered your blog and I adore it. 🙂

  2. We’re a gaggle of volunteers and opening a new scheme in our community. Your site offered us with useful information to work on. You have done an impressive activity and our whole neighborhood might be grateful to you.

Leave a Reply

